How Many Attempts for UPSC, Category Wise UPSC Attempt Limit

Written by kvno4jaipur

When embarking on the challenging journey of cracking the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) examination, candidates often find themselves pondering over a crucial question: “How many attempts do I have?” This article aims to provide you with a comprehensive understanding of the category-wise UPSC attempt limit, shedding light on the rules and regulations that govern these attempts.

Understanding the UPSC Attempt Limit

The UPSC examination, often hailed as one of the toughest nut to crack, demands meticulous planning, focused preparation, and unwavering determination. Candidates from different categories are granted a specific number of attempts to take on this formidable challenge. The attempt limits are categorized as follows:

General Category

Aspirants belonging to the General category have a set number of attempts to clear the UPSC examination. The attempt limit for General category candidates is six attempts. This means you have six opportunities to showcase your prowess and secure your dream position in the civil services.

OBC (Other Backward Classes)

Candidates falling under the OBC category are granted nine attempts to conquer the UPSC examination. This extended limit provides OBC aspirants with an edge, enabling them to approach the examination with a strategic mindset.

SC/ST (Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes)

The SC/ST category candidates enjoy the highest number of attempts, with a limit of unlimited attempts. This encouraging provision aims to uplift and empower marginalized sections of society, offering them ample chances to excel in the prestigious UPSC examination.

Navigating Multiple Attempts: A Tactical Approach

With the attempt limits clearly defined for each category, it becomes imperative for aspirants to adopt a strategic approach towards their preparation. Here are some invaluable tips to make the most of your attempts:

1. Comprehensive Study Plan

Craft a well-structured study plan that encompasses all the subjects and topics outlined in the UPSC syllabus. Allocate time efficiently, focusing on both conceptual understanding and practical application.

2. Mock Tests and Analysis

Regularly undertake mock tests to gauge your progress and identify areas that need improvement. Analyze your performance meticulously, strategizing your study plan based on the insights gained.

3. Continuous Learning

Stay updated with current affairs, government policies, and socio-economic developments. A holistic understanding of the world around you is essential to excel in the UPSC examination.

4. Time Management

Efficient time management is the key to mastering the UPSC syllabus. Allocate specific time slots for each subject, ensuring comprehensive coverage while preventing burnout.

Transitioning Towards Success

In the pursuit of conquering the UPSC examination, the journey is as significant as the destination. Each attempt offers valuable insights, allowing candidates to refine their approach and enhance their knowledge. Remember, success is not solely determined by the number of attempts, but by the dedication, perseverance, and adaptability exhibited throughout the process.

How many attempts for UPSC: Candidates can get complete idea of ​​the question running in their mind that how many attempts are taken by everyone for UPSC exam. There are a total of 6 attempts to clear the UPSC exam for general category candidates. Union Public Service Commission in its official notification mentions UPSC attempt limit for all categories- General, SC/ST, OBC, EWS and PWD. The number of UPSC attempts for general category was originally four, but later it was increased to six till the age of 32 years. This article will tell how many times applicants from different categories like general and OBC can attempt UPSC exam.

How many attempts for UPSC?

Candidates are only allowed to apply for upsc exam As per UPSC eligibility requirements, a certain no. In order to execute an appropriate strategy and be successful, each applicant must be aware of his or her maximum number of attempts. To qualify Civil Services Exam, students should attempt UPSC Exam at least number of times as each attempt is important.

General categories candidates get minimum six UPSC attempts while SC/ST categories candidates get maximum number of attempts.

Candidates should consider upsc age limit Apart from his UPSC efforts. Otherwise, the efforts are futile. Candidates should make the most of their opportunities before attaining their maximum age. Candidates must note that the number is same for IPS, IRS, IFS and other exams. The number of attempts allotted to the candidates in each category is given below.

how many upsc attempts for general category

General category candidates get only six UPSC attempts, as already mentioned. Additionally, the maximum age allowed is 32 years. General category candidates have to complete their six attempts before attaining their maximum age.

ias attempt for general category
Number Of Attempts 6
upper age limit 32

How many attempts for UPSC for OBC category

The upper age limit is relaxable for candidates falling under OBC category and for UPSC attempts. Nine attempts is the UPSC attempt limit for OBC category. Additionally, the maximum age limit for OBC applicants in the IAS exam is 35 years.

upsc attempt for obc category
Number Of Attempts 9
upper age limit 35

What is the UPSC attempt limit for SC/ST?

SC/ST applicants are eligible for an unlimited number of IAS attempts till the upper age limit is attained. For SC/ST candidates the maximum age is 37 years. This implies that SC/ST candidates can submit as many applications as they want till the age of 37 years.

UPSC Attempt for SC/ST Category
Number Of Attempts Unlimited till the upper age limit is met
upper age limit 37

UPSC Attempt for Physically Handicapped (PWD)

Candidates who are physically challenged get relaxation on the maximum age restriction and number of UPSC attempts. Nine UPSC attempts are given to physically handicapped candidates in general and OBC categories. Physically Handicapped applicants from SC/ST categories are allowed unlimited number of retakes till they attain their maximum age.

For Physically Handicapped the maximum age is 42 years.

IAS Attempt for Physically Handicapped
Number Of Attempts 9 attempts for General and OBC; Unlimited number of attempts for SC/ST up to the prescribed age limit.
upper age limit 42

The current UPSC Civil Services guidelines allow six chances and a maximum age of 32 years for a general category applicant to take the Civil Services exam. Until a few years ago, the maximum age and number of attempts was 26 years. There are rumors that UPSC may reduce the maximum age and number of attempts allowed. These unreal stories scare the students and aspirants preparing for UPSC.

About the author


Leave a Comment